Roman Empire


Roman Empire, known in real life as Roman Putnar, is a Czech musician whom I am delighted to have randomly stumbled upon whilst idly wandering around the internet on the hunt for new tunes. As with Adam’s last post, I would be hard-pushed to identify anything as straightforward as a genre for Roman’s music, rather each song should be treated as a journey full of unexpected twists, turns, backtracks and sudden bursts of energy.
The tune that caught my attention in the first place is called Rébus. I was initially drawn in by the foreboding atmosphere combined with interesting textures and pulsing melody. I like the fact that he is prepared to draw the intro out, bringing the main drums in almost two minutes in. Further on and the urgency increases with a dark, driving bass and ghostly piano over the top.

 

 

This led me to explore further and dive into his souncloud page, where I found a diverse mixture of deep yet always subtly melodic tunes ranging from the gentle Matka to the more recognisable melodic progression of Ulice (probably my favourite at this point).

 

 

 

There are many more that I could mention but I would urge you to hit his soundcloud page and discover this brilliant music for yourself.  If you like melody, atmosphere and the unexpected then you are probably going to love this.

 

James

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

